Missing Your Target Is Actually A Success!

Think about it.  All through life, we are faced with targets and goals, almost on a daily basis.  Some of us find targets a bit daunting but what if I told you how you can be successful by not even reaching your target?  OK, I might be sounding like a pyramid scam artist here but in reality, I’m going to give you an example of why failing to reach your goals can be and should be considered a roaring success.

In 2013, I ran a hearty 4 marathons, 7 half marathons and clocked up a PB of 17.4 on the beep test.  Fitness wise, it was one of my most enjoyable years on record.  I’d been told some two years before that my fitness levels were not good enough by my Queensland Referee’s Academy Director, Eddie Ward.  My initial reaction left me fuming.  There were older and less fit guys running in the squad and I know deep down Eddie just wanted me gone for whatever reason he had and hid behind the “your beep test results in pre season were not good enough” excuse.  Fuck you I thought to myself.  I’ll show the bastard wrong!  And so I did.

maxresdefault.jpg

Over the coming weeks and months, I took my anger and frustrations out on the pavements of Brisbane.  My goal was to run a half marathon.  Four weeks later, I did.  I finished it in a respectable 1 hour 48 minutes and felt OK.  Next step, I decided, was to have a crack at the Gold Coast full marathon.  Come early July, i’d knocked that one over as well.  The following year, 2013, I went crazy for road running.  In the summer of 2012/13, I was doing spin classes, body pump, road runs, walking and a full gym program.  As we came back to pre season training, I found myself sitting out near the front of all the fitness tests put before us and was enjoying myself.  Through hard work and graft, I found my way back into the squad but was barely used all season in games.  That didn’t bother me too much.  I took a far great slice of satisfaction proving that Eddie Ward was so far off the mark it just wasn’t funny.  Personally, I would have had more respect for the man had he just come out and told me that he didn’t like my personality or whatever it was that he took issue with.  I like honesty in people rather than bullshit.

This past month, I honed into some of that energy from 2012/13 to try and crack 400 km’s of walking and running through the 31 days.  As it stands, I’m set to finish the month off with around 330 km’s.  It’s 70 clicks off the target but it is still a success for me because I have covered the largest distance in one calendar month than I ever had before.  Whilst the 400 mark would have been a fabulous achievement, 330 is still nothing to be scoffed at and a PB for me so what more could I ask for?

maxresdefault (1).jpg

The moral of the story is that you should never see the missing of your target as a failure.  No matter what that target or goal is, always do your best to get there but take away the positives even if you don’t get the final result you were looking for.  Fitness can make every single day of your life an amazing adventure.  Setting attainable targets is one thing and achieving them is another all together but remember to always see the positives in every step along the way to either reaching or getting close to your target.  Sometimes getting near your target is just as big a success as achieving it.

One comment on “Missing Your Target Is Actually A Success!

  1. amarisfreier says:

    Well said and well done!

Leave a Reply

