Why Not Being Greedy Is Good For The Soul

A few weeks ago now, I received a call from my phone company advising me that it would be cheaper to upgrade my contract and in turn save around $20 a month.  I know, I know, it’s hardly anything to write home about but over twelve months, that is $240 which one shouldn’t scoff at.  So with a few minutes of my time, I was upgraded and had an iPhone 7 plus ordered.  It would arrive in under a week.  The thing was, I now had myself a spare iPhone 6 s that would become surpluss to my requirements so what would I do?

IMG_0101.JPG

Well, being an avid traveller, I could have kept it for that reason alone but that just seemed silly.  Instead, I decided to sell it on for some pocket money and on Friday afternoon, placed an advert on Gumtree.  The asking price was $300 but research had shown I should have been asking for at least $500-600 but that seemed a bit greedy for a second hand phone so $300 it was.

Within minutes of the advert going live, my new phone was ringing off the hook.  Over 50 missed call and 30 plus text messages inside the first hour.  It seems the asking price was proving quite popular indeed.  The hard part was deciding who to sell it too?  One cheeky bugger offered me $100 but not only that, he requested that I drop it off to his house!  Another potential buyer wanted to pick me up from my place of work and drive me home to make sure he was able to buy it.  Many more wanted to come straight to my place after work.  To be honest it was all getting a bit daunting.

Enter a single from from my local area.  She was trying to replace her young fella’s Galaxy but had been getting no replies to the phones she had seen over the previous two weeks on various websites.  Having always held a soft spit for the battlers of our society, this single mum was going to get the phone.  She was a lovely and genuine lady who just wanted to help her son out.  Hell, she even tried to offer me $400 instead of $300 but I had to refuse.  It was a nice feeling knowing I could help out someone less fortunate than myself.  It was also good knowing the phone was not going to end up in the hands of some greedy bastard who would only sell it on anyway at a higher price like I suspected some of the enquiries led me to think.

Sometimes, it’s nice to not take the greedy route as temptation would otherwise lead one to.  Sure, I could have put that extra couple of hundred toward my own bills, groceries or whatever but by being less greedy, I was able to help out another human being and isn’t that what life is all about? Helping others……

Leave a Reply

