Breaking New Ground

Something quite surprising happened last night.  This very blog you are reading broke new ground by surpassing the previous calander years record of views set back in 2014.  And its only June 20!  When I began writing The Complexity Project on a warm morning in January all those years ago, I never imagined it would get to this stage of readership giving me such immense personal satisfaction.

There have been people from all over the world who have written to me to say thank you for inspiring them in any number of ways and, for many reasons.  Those people have come from as far as Slovenia, Peru, Tanzania and as near as the city I now reside in, Brisbane.  In the beginning, I thought nobody would read it and that I would tire of it after a few months.  I’m glad I was wrong.

As a boy, I had dreams of being a journalist but they were soon quashed when teachers at school said my writing style was not good enough to progress.  And I believed them! Looking at the hack journalists I see writing for media outlets today, I’d wish I had ignored those English teachers and been more persistent in chasing my dreams.  It’s a major factor why I don’t listen to people today and just do my own thing and to be honest, I just don’t give a flying fuck for what people think.  And nor should you!  It’s your life.  Just do what makes you happy!

For now however, I’d love to thank each and every one of you who has read segments of this blog, shared it around, sent emails and messages of kindness or been inspired from reading one of my entries.  I’m just so incredibly chuffed to know that my adventures and stories have inspired others to be themselves, challenge themselves or just think outside the box.  That’s what life is about after all.

Thank your from the bottom of my heart!

Now, which media outlet wants to give this kid a job?

Leave a Reply

