Why All Men Need To Cross Dress!

Until you do it, there are no words to describe the feeling you experience.  The problem is, our society makes us feel bad for entertaining the idea let alone actually following it through.  I’m talking about cross dressing and why all men should try it at some point.  It doesn’t mean you are some kind of odd ball.  Hell, you’d be surprised how good you will feel when you slip into some feminine clothing.

15873089_10154240993483379_5577163193119851271_n.jpg

I became intrigued by cross dressing as a teenager watching music video’s for The New York Dolls, Bowie, Prince, Suede, Queen and Bauhaus.  A constant flurry of men in make-up, dresses and flamboyant shoes and boots.  It was all so glamorous and my natural instincts drew me deeper and deeper the more I saw.  It was also the outrage that cross dressing men caused that fascinated me.  In 1992, U2 made a fabulous music video for their tumultuous song, One.  The original and soon to be banned clip had all the band members dressing up in drag.  It was directed by Anton Corbijn and focused on bringing the issue of AIDS in the homosexual community to the fore.  Sadly, most television networks decided it was too extreme to air on television.  I only saw it twice upon release however, it had a lasting effect on me which stands to this day.

By the time I was 16, time spent with my new found circle of friends meant I could sneak away on weekends and dress up in the safety of familiar minds and attitudes.  They introduced me to nightclubs, gay bars and an underworld of mixed lifestyles I had previously not had any inkling of any existence in a sleepy town like Brisbane.  At the time, Brisbane itself was still an extremely homophobic city and it just wasn’t safe to dress up and walk the streets on your own.  I was bashed unconscious a few times by small minded red necks.  Often only when it was just me or perhaps one or two others and a much larger group of thugs looking to beat some faggots up.  I’m not even gay but for these jerks, anything different was too much for their pea brained minds to comprehend and when you don’t understand things, you grow a fear towards it.  And when you fear things, you lash out.

15940483_10154250955183379_711858445934629072_n

As soon as I turned 18, I began a spell being a DJ, dressing up in even more flamboyant attire and putting on my own punk, gothic, indie, Brit Pop and Bowie nights.  I was able to use the role of a DJ to express my sense of cross dressing and take it all to new extremes the more confidant I grew within.  During this period, I began to meet even more men who loved to cross dress as well.  Many of them were straight guys, often in relationships, married and even with kids.  They were Police officers, Doctors, lawyers, students, dole bludgers and factory workers.  They came from all walks of life and loved the sense of expression they could get from dressing up.  For many of them, they had to hide their interest in cross dressing from family, friends and work colleagues because life wasn’t too kind to people of our ilk during this period of time.  Marriage equality was a pipe dream in 1995.

15871873_10154240992728379_4565417861185485381_n

I was already a rugby league referee during this period of life so hiding my passion for cross dressing was important.  I’m sure some of my footy buddies had inklings at the time though being as young as I was, I didn’t have the full mental capacity or self confidence to open up to these types of somewhat conservative people.  I genuinely feel if more men cross dressed at some point in their lives, they may have a deeper understanding of femininity and, in turn, be less inclined to be hurtful and disrespectful towards woman.  Cross dressing gives you a feel for the beauty a woman feels when she applies her make-up, slips into that size 10 dress or spends hours at the salon searching for “that” new hair style.  There’s no shame in it.  It won’t make you crave the company of men, it won’t make you a freak of nature and it won’t make you less of a man than you already are.

15894757_10154240996923379_3675123569333363189_n.jpg

And girls, encourage your man to experiment and explore his sexuality.  After all, don’t you always wish your man was more in touch with his feminine side and showed a deeper understanding of your feelings and emotions?  Perhaps a touch of cross dressing will give him the inspiration to be a better lover and human being?

Leave a Reply

