Rekindle The Romance!

It’s our 25th anniversary this December.  A rocky road it has been at times.  Like all good relationships, we’ve managed to steer through tricky waters and dark times which only make the good times more enjoyable.  Over the past decade though, we’ve fallen a little stale but deep down, I know I could never walk away.  It’s the life of a David Bowie collector.  There are as many ups and downs as there would be between a man and a woman or a man and well, another man or a woman and, OK, you get it.

IMG_4229

Particularly since 2007/08 as I began to travel more frequently, Bowie collecting became harder.  I was thoroughly enjoying the frequent trips to all corners of the globe though, I wasn’t too partial to the ever increasing prices on what were once reasonably priced collectables.  With no tours, albums or reasonable releases on the official front, fans began to put more emphasis on increasing their RCA era 7″ singles or chasing down copies of that Brazilian Never Let Me Down promo with an entirely different cover.

As the years passed, the lust for tracking down those rare gems decreased.  I’d even sold a number of my more desirable collectables to fund travel sojourns.  With it came the advent of Record Store Day and with that, a new breed of selfish, greedy and nasty Bowie collectors.  Anything reasonably worth collecting was scooped up and then instantly sold on for triple the price, or more!  With his passing some 18 months ago, the prices went up even higher.  I’d had enough. I was out all together.

IMG_4227.JPG

Earlier this year, it was announced that RSD would see the release of some interesting Bowie product.  My ears pricked up at the news of the BOWPROMO  LP, an exciting re-issue of what was originally pressed in 1971 (500 copies) to promote Hunky Dory.  It also included a selection of tracks from Dana Gillespie (criminally left off this issue) that had a helping hand from Bowie himself.  It’s the first time in a while that I was genuinely excited by a new Bowie release.  What’s more, it wasn’t too limited so I was able to jag a copy thanks to my friend, Bruce in Melbourne.

Over recent weeks, I’ve begun investigating and indulging in ideas of kick starting my Bowie collection again.  The love and passion for it have returned.  Maybe I needed that cooling off period after all to spark the fire again? Either way, I’m excited as to the prospect of what lies ahead in the coming months as I begin to pick up bits and bobs again.  My next port of call will be to investigate the spate of 40th anniversary singles.  I’ve already got a few of the standard releases though it will be a challenge to pick up the not so common releases for a respectable price.  Regardless, it will be fun trying.

IMG_4228

Life isn’t meant to be easy.  All you can do is focus on what makes you happy, what you get pleasure from and doing the things you love.  It may have come and gone but my spark for collecting David Bowie has been re-kindled thanks to a beautifully packaged release…..

Leave a Reply

