Spanish Delights!

There simply is no better feeling when you return to one of your favourite travel destinations.  For me, there are many.  Only a few though are capable of reaching  the heights of Barcelona, my current destination whilst on the road.  Tomorrow I head north to Girona before taking a train to Figueres, the birthplace of none other than Salvador Dali.

IMG_1656

My hostel for the night is situated a stones throw from one of the world’s truly remarkable sights, Cathedral of Barcelona.  Construction famously began on Gaudi’s grand design in 1339.  That’s almost 700 years ago!  Even more remarkable is that completion has not yet been reached.

IMG_1652

It’s ticking past the witching hour and I should be in bed trying to sleep.  The problem is that I am so excited by the prospect of what lays in wait over the coming days that I simply can’t bring myself into a state of relaxation.  As I type, there are two Irish girls whispering over the way on a couch as to which one of them is going to sleep with the chap from Brazil who apparently shares the same dorm.  I feel like adding my two cents to the conversation but they are barely out of their teens so one suspects they most likely see me as some old man.

I digress.

IMG_1655.JPG

Within the humble confines off my hostel, the walls are lined with a dip of the hat to film and music heroes.  Adorning the walls of the chill out room are two guitars whereby, residents are encouraged to pick them up and strum or play away.  Very cool.  The colour scheme is set out with a traditional Catalonian feel and there are tiny balconies throughout for smokers and people watchers to enjoy.  There is always so much for the eyes to embrace in Barcelona.  Particularly now that the warm weather is well and truly upon us.  Tomorrow though, I shall depart early for my previously mentioned train to Girona.

IMG_1653.JPG

I should confess though.  The big selling point for this mini adventure was the lure of attending the David Bowie Is…. exhibition which opens Thursday morning.  There is a hearty opening night party planned for later that evening though one must see how my legs endure the countless kilometres in walking that I will cover in the coming 48 hours.  OK, who am I kidding.  Of course I will be at the Bowie party on Thursday night!

Leave a Reply

