Helping Others

I was finding my way along Edgeware Road to my hostel this evening when I noticed a young homeless couple looking a little worse for ware in the rain and wind.  My instincts too over and I briefly stopped to have a yarn with them.

Ryan and Katrina are a young couple who have been on the streets for almost six months now since they lost their apartment in Milton Keynes.  They have a young child who is currently in custody of carers whilst they try their best to get back on the horse.  Ryan is 21 whilst Katrina is one year his junior.  Both have had troubled upbringings and battled drug addictions though they have been clean for over a year now.  The battle to clean up was a simple one.  They wanted a better life for their young daughter.

IMG_0172

Noticing Ryan (pictured above) was shaking, I offered him my hoodie then popped off to buy them some food and hot coffee.  It’s only a few pounds out of my pocket but it’s a big thing for young people in need.  Moments like these are always a reminder of how fortunate I have been in life and why I count my lucky stars every single day.  Actually, I was a tad bummed out earlier in the day because I couldn’t get hold of a ticket for the West Ham v Liverpool match at the Olympic Stadium.  First world problems and all that.

Sometimes people like Ryan and Katrina just need a leg up in life.  You know, some kindness from strangers to help them feel like they can actually achieve great things in life.  Now, I’m not saying you should stop and help every homeless person you pass but every now and then, it doesn’t hurt to offer an act of kindness.

Leave a Reply

