Searching For Oscar!

One of the beautiful aspects of London is the constant exploration on offer.  I’ve been coming here on a regular basis for some seventeen years and have always held the belief that you should visit particular landmarks when the moment strikes and not a second sooner.

IMG_0038.JPG

34 Tite Street, named after William Tite, one of the designers of the famed Chelsea embankment.  Oscar Wilde moved into this residence in 1894 and lived there until his imprisonment the following year for committing homesuxaul activities.  It was here that Wilde wrote his principle works including “The Importance of Being Earnest”, “An Ideal Husband” and, my personal favourite, “A Picture of Dorian Grey”.

IMG_0005.JPG

The street is somewhat easy to find and has been home to some of Britain’s leading artists, surgeons, writers and actors over the decades.  For me, it was kind of how I had previously imagined it to be.  The only surprise is that, sitting opposite number 34 is a horrid 1970’s style apartment complex that most certainly did not warrant time to be photographed.  It would spoil the romance of it all if I showed you exactly what a monstrosity it truly is.

IMG_0037.JPG

Being a warm and sunny English afternoon, I expected there to be other Wilde admirerers about but sadly, I was on my own.  This did however, give me ample time to soak in the history of a treasured London steet.  I took a handful of happy snaps before moving on towards Putney Bridge.

IMG_0021

As I turned to leave, I closed my eyes and imagined Oscar strolling along the footpath, pondering life and musing over chapter and verse.  With that, I too pondered my own life and reminded myself how wonderful my life truly is.

Leave a Reply

