Travel Smart, Travel Light

So, I’m off to Europe again in just over two weeks and the older I have grown, the less I take with me.  For three weeks my life will fit sweetly into a small carry on bag.  It’s pink too!  Couple of shirts, socks, toiletries and something to sleep in.  That’s pretty much all I will need.  Looking back to when I was much younger and more of a bright eyed and bushy eyed traveller, I’d truck about with a large suitcase packed full of shit I was never going to use at any stage.  Yet, I still fucking packed it knowing this.  You’ve been there right?  Of course you have!

IMG_9528.JPG

The benefits of travelling light are many.  Particularly if you are moving about on a regular basis.  Sometimes I may find myself in seven different cities over 10 days which may mean a few flights, train and bus journeys.  The flights are usually with Ryanair or Easyjet (yes, I’m a Jew with money) to save money so if I can save myself £15 on checked luggage (the cost of a night in a hostel) then I shall.

As you may have experienced yourself, one of the more serious problems with taking a large suitcase around planet earth is when you have to lug the bastard around busy city streets or try and navigate your way through peak hour commuters at train stations.  Nobody gives two hoots for us tired and weary travellers when we are in their way.  It just makes so much sense to carry that little carry on bag under these circumstances.

Next time you are packing for a trip, try and take just a carry bag with you.  It’s a hard adjustment to make initially but I promise you, it will get easier the more you do it.  And think of how more enjoyable those crowded train stations will be minus the ginormous suitcase full of shit you don’t need.  Most of all, imagine all the money you will save when you no longer need to pay those fuckers at Ryanair extra for checked luggage…..

Leave a Reply

