100 Films In One Year

As part of my goal structure for 2017, I set a challenge to see 50 films at the cinema over the calendar year.  By mid February, I quickly realized that this target was too small so I raised the bar and doubled my target to 100.  I felt it was going to be a grand way of helping me open my eyes to even more cinema than I had ever done before and so far, it’s working a treat.  Once upon a time, I was quite selective as to which films I would see.  More often than not, I steered away from Hollywood blockbusters to spend my hard earned on foreign language and art house movies principally to support the smaller market.  After, the masses flock to those big budget movies so if i’m going to support any part of this industry, it’s the underdog.

I decided to make my home away from home Palace Centro on James Street in New Farm.  There are more often than not, very few screenings that attract large crowds.  Winning!  Secondly, I get to take up my favorite spot almost all the time which is around 3-5 rows from the front and to the far left.  If I go to Palace Barracks on the other hand, I lean towards the right hand side of the cinema.  Funny how creature comforts can constantly dictate something simple like where we choose to watch a movie from?

As we approach the quarter mark of 2017, I am just one film of 25 chalked off the target and due to the Oscar season and all, I have managed to see quite a few powerful and thought provoking movies so far.  What’s more, the French film festival kicks off this week so I will indeed make every effort to chalk off a few more at that festival in the coming weeks.  I just love film!  It’s the ability to escape into an alternative universe.  It’s something which began in high school when I started to fall out of favour with the other kids.  Instead of trying to fit in, I focused more so on the things I loved and cinema became a massive part of my life.  It’s also where my habit of going to the cinema on my own developed.  I felt more than comfortable being left to my own devices and hiding away in dark theaters.  I still do to this day.

So here is what I have seen thus far in 2017.  I have rated each film out of 10.  It’s exciting to think of all the great films that are yet to come in the remaining three quarters of 2017.

January 2: Red Dog: True Blue – 3/10

January 15: The Founder – 8/10

January 16: Collateral Beauty – 6.5/10

January 17: Allied – 7/10

January 18: The Accountant – 8/10

January 21: Rosalie Blum – 9/10

January 25: La La Land – 10/10

January 30: Perfect Strangers – 7/10

February 2: Jackie – 4/10

February 4: Patriots Day – 6/10

February 6: Moonlight – 8/10

February 10: Fences – 8/10

February 13: A Street Cat Named Bob – 8.5/10

February 18: Toni Erdman – 7.5/10

February 18: Trainspotting 2 – 9/10

February 20: Lion – 8/10

February 20: Fifty Shades Darker – 1/10

February 22: Trespass Against Us – 7/10

February 25: Manchester By The Sea – 3/10

February 27: David Stratton: A Cinematic Life – 9/10

March 6: Alone In Berlin – 8/10

March 7: Miss Sloan – 10/10

March 8: Logan – 7/10

March 13: Hidden Figures – 9/10

So far, the highlights have been many with only Fifty Shades Darker. Manchester By The Sea and Red Dog: True Blue failing to excite me to any great length.  How Casey Affleck won the best actor in a lead role is beyond me.  And Michelle Williams being nominated as well?  Fucking spare me!  I guess it’s all subjective at the end of the day.  Either way, the next 76 films will provide copious amounts of pleasure…….

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “100 Films In One Year

  1. amarisfreier says:

    You surprised me with your ratings for some of these films and inspired me to see others that I had previously discounted. Thanks for the review. I look forward to hearing about the next 25 🙂

Leave a Reply

