Saturday Night In

There once was a time when the concept of spending a Saturday night in on my own was unthinkable.  I was always looking for places to visit, people to see, new people to meet and bars that played my kind of music.  It never really occurred to me that there might come a time when I would enjoy my Saturday night indoors reading a good book whilst listening to chilled out music.  That’s kinda what I tend to do almost every Saturday night these days.  And I’m still 39 years old!

IMG_9052.JPG

Perhaps it’s down to the dire selection of music that DJ’s play?  Or is it the constant barrage of cover bands playing Cold Chisel and Nirvana cuts?  I know part of the problem for me is that I don’t drink much these days so spending time trapped in dark rooms with alcoholics is a most unpleasant one at best.  Thankfully, tonight, I am being saved by Belle & Sebastian’s 1996 second LP, “If You’re Feeling Sinister”.  It’s a beautiful album befitting a Saturday night in.  Melancholy tunes with the sweet vocals of Stuart Murdoch to lead the listener on a journey of bliss.  Tonight, Stuart is taking me on that exact journey.

I only really dug deep into the back catalogue of Belle & Sebastian in 1999 when my friend Cathy leant me a copy of “The Boy With The Arab Strap”, an album I never actually returned.  Sorry Cathy!

From there I made regular trips to local record stores to pick up the rest of Belle & Sebastian’s back catalogue on import.  There was none of this Spotify and downloading lark back in 1999.  Hell, I don’t think I even had tegular access to the internet.  I know I didn’t own a computer in 1999 that’s for sure!  So yeah, it was a hard yet rewarding journey seeking out albums by obscure Scottish bands.

I really liked Cathy back then too.  She was just cool but for some reason, we never go together.  I often wonder what would have happened had we hit it off?  Maybe when we are in our sixties, we’ll bump into each other in a record store and finally become that item we should have been in 1999?

For now though, I’m going to lay back on my bed, slip my headphones back on and continue enjoying Belle & Sebastian’s “If You’re Feeling Sinister”, a fine record by any standards and a fabulous way to spend a Saturday night in…..

Leave a Reply

