Dating In 2017 Is All About….

….The interview process!

Yep, I have discovered an alarming pattern over the past twelve months about internet dating and it most certainly isn’t something that we should be focused on so early in the piece.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love my life of adventure and travel though it would be nice to meet someone interesting yet the whole process behind dating seems far too contrived.  From the moment you arrive, more often than not you are being sized up according to your skill sets and prospects.  Where do you work?  What car do you drive? Do you own your own house?  Where do you see yourself in five years? (why the fuck would you ask that on a first date????) and the best one of all, how many kids do you have/want?  To be honest, I have found job interviews over the years less intrusive than the questions girls throw at you from the other side of a table.

My most favored answer to deliver is that I don’t drive. Never have, never will. It’s more often than not met with a look of complete disdain as if I am some kind of irresponsible human being for not polluting the earth with yet another car on the road.  I can usually tell with profound certainty weather the date will end soon or keep going a little longer.  The sure fire signs of an abrupt end come via looks at the watch and suggestions of tiredness.  Just behind this one is my admission that I indeed did have a vasectomy some 6 years ago.  “But aren’t you wanting to have children?” they ask with a look of abject shock?  Yes, I am happy not having a brood of kids following behind me as I travel the world.  Is it really so strange?  After all, the world is already overpopulated and 80% of the world live on less than $10 a day.  Think about that for a moment before you consider having children.

Something else that makes modern dating seem even more like a job interview are the late arrivals.  It’s like when you are left waiting for a potential boss to walk in to take you through the interview process.  Well, the past three dates I have been on have seen all three arrive at least 45 minutes late.  One was ever a whopping one hour and twenty minutes late.  OK, yes, I get it.  Why would I wait almost an hour and  a half for someone to arrive?  Well, I guess it boils down to my upbringing where you arrive on time as a mark of respect to the person you are meeting.  And you give people an opportunity to explain why they are late.  And yes, the excuses are quite weak.  One of them even had the audacity to assume I was going to be paying for the first round of drinks.  Oh, this was a the one who turned up one hour and twenty minutes late.  Needless to say, she paid and there was no second round of drinks.

My advice to you is this.  Arrive on time, leave the Spanish inquisition for another day.  You should just relax and enjoy each others company before thinking about how many kids you are going to have or what kind of house you will buy together.

Just stop and smell the roses…….

 

 

Leave a Reply

