Eating Poorly Is Never A Good Thing

As I approach the age of 40, I have noticed certain changes in my body compared to say, five or six years ago.  Going for a run and spending time in the gym is still a great passion of mine though I definitely know the legs are not as quick and the body doesn’t recover as well from a heavy weights session.  My hunger to get up at 5 am for a morning run has dwindled so much so that I can’t remember the last time I was pounding the pavement before sunrise.  Evening runs are much more enjoyable these days I must profess.

The other big challenge facing me as I move towards decade number five on planet earth is my diet.  Now, I have always been an advocate of eating what you like in moderation and exercising well to keep a good balance.  I have no faith in crash diets.  They never have and never will work.  The one thing I have been noticing is how my body reacts to junk food of late.  I don’t eat McDonalds unless the circumstances are dire and I hardly touch alcohol so over the past few days, I deceived to rest up from my running, walking and gym sessions to enjoy some guilty pleasures.  My two biggest crimes were having a couple of beers and last night, eating a whole pizza!  So how did it all go?

Today, I went to work feeling flat and tired.  Bloated too if I am being honest.  It wasn’t a good feeling as I could still feel the pizza whirling around in my guts.  It was most definitely not a good way to feel.  After work, I ducked into the gym for a workout and, for the first time in a long while, felt lethargic and tired.  Just battle through it I thought to myself.  Next up came the run home.  It varies between 8 to 9.6 km’s depending on which route I take.  Tonight however, I took the short option and it wasn’t fun.  Not in the slightest.

The start was ok as I wound my way under the Story Bridege and along the Brisbane river.  So far, so good I thought.  But then, at around 2.8 km’s it hit me.  A combination of lactic acid build up in my legs, no real energy to keep a consistent pace and between that point and home, a few walking spots to break up the run.  My body just wasn’t feeling it.  In the end I clicked my 8.2 km’s in around 53 minutes which was quite poor for my standards.

I felt ok at the finish.  Probably, I could have kept going but there was no quality in the run.  Three days of poor eating and no exercise had caught up with me in a big way!  If anything, it reinforced my opinion that the older we get, the more effort we should put into looking after our bodies.  I will be back to normal in a day or two with healthier eating and more exercise but for those of you around my age and above, it’s time to start paying more attention to your body.  Fuel it properly, take it out for a spin and treat it well.  You only have one body so poor eating and no exercise is only going to leave you heading in one direction.  And that is down…..

Leave a Reply

