Why it’s important to be yourself

I recently uploaded a new profile photo to my Facebook account where I was atop Mount Biokovo in Croatia and some friends and work colleagues asked me why I would strip down to my underwear whilst standing on top of a mountain?  My answer was a little strange I guess because I would tell them that I was just being myself and that was met with blank stares.  They just didn’t get it I guess?  The thing is you see, I see so many people these days who are just happy to fit into the “system” of life.  They get up, go to work, pay the mortgage, have the kids, buy the fancy car and just exist.

11169415_10152981573308379_7957502592079868943_n.jpg

A recent article on the BBC website suggested that we are working longer hours now than we have in over five decades.  The same article also pointed out that in 2016, just 62 people owned half the wealth in the world.  Just let that sink in for a moment.  There are over seven and half billion people on planet earth yet just a meagre 62 people are in control of 50% of the wealth.  So why then do we get so caught up in chasing the money and success?  Why is money so important to so many people?  For me, it’s a pointless existence when you live your life simply to become wealthy.  Money never has and never will make anyone happy will it?  Too many of us think money is the only key to success.  We simply follow others into a meaningless world of financial greed. In effect, wealth comes to us in so many other areas but it isn’t the financial kind that is what we should be concerned with.

You’ve just got to get a little crazy and never stop dreaming.  Dream big and even if you encounter a bucket load of failures along the way, it will still be the experiences that you remember for the rest of your life and take to the grave when you kick the bucket.  I guess what I am trying to say is that if taking your clothes off on top of mountains is who you are then embrace it all the way.  It’s time to put those goals and dreams back on the table in 2017 and stop talking, thinking and planning and just go and do what your heart truly desires.  It may mean breaking from that pointless relationship you are stuck in or leaving the job that drives you crazy but trust me, it will allow you so much more freedom.

You could be dead tomorrow so live your life today……

 

 

Leave a Reply

