When your hostel passes muster

Let me say this from the out.  I’ve had the pleasure of frequenting many hostels and hotels around the world in the past 16 years since I first set foot outside of Australia.  In all that time there have only ever been two experiences which left me unsettled.

The first was in 2008 when I awoke the morning after a late night arrival to find the underside of my pillow smothered in dry blood.  Not just a few drops but imagine some guy had had the shit kicked out of him and used the pillow as a sponge for blood.  You get the drift yeah?

The second time came a year later when my bunk had bed bugs!  It took me a long time to get over that experience.  I scratched myself silly for two weeks after and threw out almost all my clothes in the process.

Aside from those two moments of strangeness, I’ve been incredibly lucky on the hostel front.  That’s why, when I arrived at “Via Lewisham” in south London last night, I struck gold again!

At £15 for the night plus £3.50 for breakfast and the added fact it was a Friday night in London, I had some reservations when booking.  Even after reading some horrendous reviews, I was still as always, ever the optimist.  One thing I have learnt from online reviews is that most people look for things to moan about.  However, when you are in one of the world’s largest cities, you shouldn’t be expecting the Taj Mahal for £15 a night should you?

img_4089

At reception, there was a lovely young English girl to greet me along with a neon sign that resonated with me instantly.  It was the Ghandi quote, “Be the change you want to see in the world!”

My room was a nine bed dorm and was much smaller than most nine bed dorms I have stayed in over the years.  So much so that some people, myself included had to sleep with things on our bed due to a distinct lack of space.  First world problems ey?

The rest of the hostel was spotless!  From the common room to the breakfast area and even the toilets.  Everything was clean and tidy from top to toe.  Fantastic!  The only hitch came when my shower clogged up and flooded again.  Once more, first world problems.

The highlight no doubt was indeed the young couple having awkward sex in the bunk below me late last night.  The poor girl kept asking her fella to slow down and stop being so rough but he obviously wasn’5 listening that well.  Needless to say, he probably enjoyed it a lot more than she did.  It’s always entertaining listening to people fuck in hostel dorms.  They always try so hard to be quiet but they never succeed.  I say, be as loud as you wish and enjoy the moment.  It’s just sex after all.

img_4088

Breakfast was decent value for money with toast, cereal, juice along with tea and coffee available for just £3.50 so that goes down as a winner.

In closing, if you are a bit of a princess then this hostel is not for you.  However, should you be keen on a cheap dig for the night and cramped dorm rooms don’t put you off then you will not find much better than “Via Lewisham”!

Leave a Reply

