Why Closure Is Needed

It has been a tough year for Bowie fans.  Since his departure from planet earth in January, many of his loyal fans have gradually come to grips with the loss and have been dealing with it in their own special and unique way.  I know of some who are still yet to listen to Blackstar since his fateful passing because it simply pulls at their heart strings too much.  I totally understand that.  And yes, it might appear strange to an outsider however, Bowie’s impact on us reached far deeper than the music.  This is why I, like some, have chosen to spend 2016 celebrating the life of Bowie and not staying down too much.

In March, I headed to Groningen in The Netherlands to see the David Bowie Is…. exhibition for the fourth time.  I’d previously seen it in London, Melbourne and Paris and will see it once more in Tokyo next year.

img_2386

Fans have also spent the year taking in regular visits to the Brixton memorial.  Some ten months on, fans are still leaving flowers and personal messages at the memorial.  It’s been quite touching and somewhat moving reading all the messages and seeing how one man affected so many so deeply.  Perhaps, we have not seen anything like it since John Lennon was shot and killed in 1980?

img_3223

On Friday of last week, I had the good fortune of visiting Sotheby’s in London to enjoy a rare look at Bowie’s personal collection of art and furniture.

img_3230

There were some truly beautiful items on show and all will go up for auction this Thursday and Friday.  Collectors the world over will be dishing out millions of pounds for a slice of Bowie’s personal collection.

img_3234

Next week, Wednesday November 16 begins another chapter of my closure.  I have secured tickets to Bowie’s musical, Lazarus in London.  Both for the 3 pm and 8 pm sessions.  I will also see the play for the third time on November 30.

img_3536

As 2016 draws near completion, it’s safe to say Bowie fans have had the opportunity to say goodbye in many different ways.  I wasn’5 too keen on attending the plethora of overpriced tribute concerts during the year.  It’s not really my cup of tea.  I’ve also been put off the numerous commercial cash in releases, of which there have been many.

The beauty for me has been the ever increasing number of new Bowie fans, young and old who are discovering his music for the first time this year.  Together with Lazarus hitting London, it really doesn’t get much better than that!

Lazarus is, in many respects the perfect way to sign off on Bowie’s loss in 2016.

Leave a comment