Long. Cold. Friday. Night!

Brentford FC played host to local rivals, Fulham at Griffen Park last night.  Why was I watching Brentford FC you ask?  Well, I happen to be one of those crazy types who is ticking off all the league grounds in England (plus a shit load more in Wales, Scotland and the rest of Europe) for a sense of accomplishment.

Now, let me tell you this.  Griffen Park is not only a bastard of a ground to get to, it also happens to be a bit of an English shit hole!

img_3308

The night got off to a rough start when I found myself in need of getting no less than three buses and trains to make my way to the ground.  There were also cancelations to one of my overground trains.  Not once, not twice but three times!  Of course there was.

I digress.

Arriving no less then 32 minutes into the first half (I should have been there with at least 45 minutes to down a pint at the local drinking hole), I witnessed a dire affair between two mid table rivals who both seemed under the impression that they were in League Two and not The Championship.  Yes, the match really was that bad despite Fulham taking all three points with a 2-0 win, their first over Brentford in a while.

Somehow, I managed my way into the home end (I am rather good at bullshitting people) with the locals who, despite their best attempts, were unable to lift their team until late into the second half when it was all a tad too late.  Without sounding too harsh, some of the home supporters gave me the impression that their girlfriend may just double up as their sister if you catch my drift?  Ok, that was cruel.  But seriously, you had to be amongst it to appreciate just where I am coming from.

The journey home was warm and pleasant as a packed carriage of Fulham supporters were in fine fetal dealing out some fantastic songs and sledges to the locals.

I am not sure I will be in any rush to return to Griffen Park anytime soon but it has been ticked off the list now so I can happily move on from the experience.  If attending a game, give yourself plenty of extra time for a night match due to British Rail’a finest surely fucking things up.

For now, it’s onto Celtic Park in a matter of hours to watch them play Inverness.

Leave a Reply

