39 People, Places & Things…..

NUMBER 39: The End of The Line…..but time for the main man!

So there you have it.  39 People, Places & Things that have had an impact in some way on the first 39 years of my life on planet earth.  It’s been a hell of a journey so far and in reality there could have been another 39 People, Places & Things that should have made the final cut.

The final entry has been saved for the one person who has shaped my mind, soul and life more than anyone or anything.  I part, he was responsible for the list to begin with because when he passed away in January, I began to reflect on my life thus far.  Where it had been and where it would be going.

b50ac4c116d16e4dffa9be1130703eb1

As news broke of David Bowie’s passing earlier this year, many people around the world felt as though a piece of them had passed away as well.  Bowie’s impact on the world was far greater, more significant and more far reaching than most people can imagine.  For me, his death signaled the commencement of a celebration.  A celebration of not just Bowie’s life but my own as well.  I looked back with great fondness at all the wonderful experiences I have had, the amazing people who have come and gone with the comfort in the knowledge there is still a lot more to come.  The secret to Bowie’s success was always looking forward.  He never wasted his time reflecting too much on what had come before.  It’s was always looking forward and changing to suit his own personal needs.  That’s kind of how I have come to live life.

david-bowie-the-next-day-2013-600x450

The greatest gift Bowie gave us was the knowledge that all we have to do is simply be ourselves.  There is no need to pretend or try and impress others.  Just impress yourself and don’t worry too much about what others may think.  Now, I’ve waxed lyrical for almost four years now in this blog about Bowie so now is not really the time to go on another Bowie love in, as nice as it sounds.  Now is the time to look to the future, get my head down, bum up and just get on with it.  Bowie’s been great for me.  He will continue to be part of my life in different ways from here on in.

Life is beautiful.  Life is amazing.  Make of what you will………

Leave a Reply

