39 People, Places & Things….

NUMBER 37: All Things Must Pass

As we grow older, we learn so much more about ourselves with every passing experience, moment and year.  At some point, we come to a crossroad where a decision must be made.  Do you sit on your hands with your head turned back reflecting on the past or, do you look firmly ahead towards the future and new beginnings?  The choice is always yours. However, I find too many people I encounter in life get stuck on the past.  They just seem incapable of moving on from situations that have hurt them or missed chances.

People die, people cheat on their partners, people betray us, jobs we enjoy come to an end, banks pull the rug from under us and even close friends move on, sometimes with no real explanation.  What you need to realize is that you will never be able to amend or change the past.  It has happened.  You need to suck it up and get on with things. Stop closing the door on adventures that await you because you are far too busy reflecting on where you may or may not have gone wrong.  You are unable to have an effect on what has come before though you can shape, mold and sculpt your future however you want.  And it isn’t really as hard as you think it will be.  The secret is to always get back up as soon as you can, dust yourself off and keep moving forward.

People often ask me why I am always so happy.  It’s a simple answer.  I just do what I love and if I am not happy about a situation, I move on.  Sure, there are moments when I am down or feel upset.  The best tonic to fix these moments is to think of what you love doing then go out and do it.  There is no need to sit around and think about things and chew the fat.  Normally, I  just go to the movies, go for a run or walk, go to the gym,plan travel adventures, read my never ending list of new books, spend time with friends or even head to my storage unit and sift over my vinyl collection.  You are never able to control what other people do though you can be the sole judge of what you achieve on a daily, monthly or yearly basis.

That brings me to a fantastic line from an old song that always resonates with me…..

“Sometimes I feel the need to move on.  So I pack a bag, and move on.”

That is how you must to treat your life.  Stop chasing the past.  It’s behind you.  Open your eyes, look forward and just get on with it.  You are a long time dead so stop wasting your life away on could have been moments.

 

Leave a Reply

