39 People, Place & Things…..

NUMBER 33: Obscure Items

There are many questions that I often struggle to find the right answers for in life.  One of the more simple efforts offered my way is “what type of music are you into?”.  Not an easy answer by any stretch of the imagination I can assure you.

You see my friends, the problem is this.  I like far too many different styles and artists to ever narrow the field down too well.  One offering I put forward is that of Florence Foster Jenkins.  Now, most of you will have never heard of her before today and many of you will long forget after reading this blog.  But you see, that is the beauty of the obscure.  It’s the personal affection you adopt for a singer knowing very few, if any other mortals will actually like them as well.

florence_foster_jenkins

What Florence Foster Jenkins brings to the dinner table is well, very little in the way of talent.  However, she offers up shall we call it, erm, an experience to savor.  You can listen to some of her stuff in the link provided below.  I do wonder how many of you will last the full course of the clip?

There is a small collection of her recordings available on CD.  Can I just say now that should you purchase said item, it may be best to bring it out when you are hosting friends for dinner and, only after they have all had a couple, well, a few drinks.  Either way, their sense shall be stirred in a most unimaginable way.

glory

So perhaps this is just the tip of the iceberg for my more obscure tastes in music?  There are always new discoveries out there and being into my history, I find Florence Foster Jenkins a rather unique listening experience.  The album is called “The Glory of The Human Voice (????)” and no doubt, should you acquire the album, your life will never be quite the same again for better or worse.

The next time you think of asking me what music I like, just be prepared to be either bored out of your mind or enthralled with my response.

 

Leave a Reply

