39 People, Places & Things….

NUMBER 32: My first turntable

In 1993, I acquired my very first turntable.  One can’t quite explain the exhilarating buzz that runs through the blood of a teenager when you drop the needle on a record for the very first time when it involves your own equipment.  There is so much tender loving care involved.  You slowly slide the vinyl out of its sleeve, gently place it on your deck and then allow your senses to be blown.

image

Now this, is a turntable! 

That crackle. The warmth. The emotion pouring out of your speakers.  One can liken it to heroin being shot into the body (not that I know what that feels like but I have told it is pretty intense) for the first time.  You lift off into another stratosphere.

One of the first albums I bought to play on my turntable in 1993 was a double LP by The Smirhs called “The World Won’t Listen” which collected singles and b-sides from their most influential of legacy’s.  I still remember hearing “How Soon Is Now” bellowing out of the small speakers that I had hooked up.

My turntable was my pride and joy for many years before it finally went to deck heaven.  I’ve had a few since though nothing will ever compare to that first, and most love pleasure provider.

If you have never owned a turntable, you simply have no idea what you are missing.

Leave a Reply

