39 People, Places & Things…..

NUMBER 27: Beautiful Journeys

On a personal level, there is no better feeling than when you take off to a new and uncharted territory.  The first time I was genuinely blown away by a flight was in late 2000.  Early November to be exact.  It was a quick flight from London Heathrow to Oslo in Norway.

Being an afternoon flight, I was expecting things to be a little crowded however, from memory, the plane was rather empty yet the real moment of beauty came some 20 minutes after take off.  Looking out my window, I noticed a beautiful winter sunset was in practice.  There was a thick layer of cloud with sunshine peep through as we began our ascent into the evening skies.  Now, you must remember.  This was in the days before mobile phone and digital cameras so I wasn’t, like most of you, prone to pulling out and snapping at every object and moment that fell at my feet.

img_6384

Not what I saw in 2000 but still a beautiful shot of the north sea at dusk

What made the journey so spectacular was in fact a song that I was listening to for the first time.  My friend in London, a cool Kiwi guy by the name of Brian gave me a CD-R of some music for my flight.  On the disc, about 6 tracks in was a song or shall we say, collaboration between Brian Eno and John Cale.  The song in question was “Spinning Away”.

Now imagine this.  You have a beautiful skyline in front of you and an even more sublime song on repeat.  I know, I know.  You can’t exactly picture the moment or more so, imagine the exact feelings I was experiencing but trust me, you just have to go with me on this one.  So close your eyes, listen to this song and imagine you are flying over the north sea towards Norway for the first time.  Now tell me you don’t enjoy what your mind is supplying you with?

It’s moments like these that I will never forget.  Only a small fragment of time yet still, it was a true moment of beauty.  That is what your life should be.  Moments of beauty!

Leave a Reply

