39 People, Places & Things….

NUMBER 24: BEING ON YOUR OWN IS REWARDING

I remember as a young boy being told that being on your own will cause you pain and deliver great difficulties through life.  Apparently, I had to go out and fill my life with friends, family and always look to be surrounded by people.  I found however, as I moved into my teenage years, I learned quickly to enjoy and embrace my own company.

My solace was often found in literature, film and music.  Many evenings were embraced and digested in my room, always with something to distract me.  Sometimes, I would easily fill an entire weekend on my own.  The immagination I possessed allowed me to retreat with my thoughts.  Of course there were times when I equally enjoyed the company of others yet, it never bothered me if said company was not about.

What I am pushing at here is this.  Enjoy time on your own.  Do with it whatever your heart and mind long for.  Learn an instrument, read Oscar Wilde, plan your next travel escape or simply stare into space and contemplate your future.  Learn to fall in love with your own company.  As a wise person recently said to me, you can not love somebody else until you learn to love yourself.

Never allow others to pressure you to come out if you don’t feel the need.  Stay indoors and learn a little more about yourself.  You never know, the findings may just leave you pleasantly surprised!

Leave a Reply

