39 People, Places & Things…..

NUMBER 17: NOT REQUIRED POSSESSIONS

So 39 years on planet earth and what have I learned?  Well, for starters, I have taken on board the lesson that less is most definitely best.In recent years, I have downgraded my possessions.  I sold off a lot of furniture and have been ridding my life of things I don’t want nor do I need.

image1

In the past few months, I have managed to fill up and send off to charity stores, around 8 bags of clothes not too dissimilar to the one pictured above (my latest package for the Lifeline store) in an effort to reduce the sheer volume of clothes I have bought over the year but failed to move on in due course.  The clothes are just a small part of what can be known as “emptying your life of all the junk you don’t actually need”.

When I walk into peoples homes these days, I can’t help but notice all the shit they carry around with them.  Endless piles of consumer driven junk that serves little to no purpose in their lives.  I’m not for one minute suggesting that you empty your house out.  We all have things that give us some fulfillment no doubt but always try to pass on what you don’t actually need to someone who could perhaps make better use of it.  Perhaps this weekend you could spare an hour or two for sorting through your clothes and take on board my rule of thumb.  If you have not work a particular item in the past six months, it’s time to pass on it.  Recycle it and allow someone else who may be less fortunate than yourself a chance to enjoy what you simply take for granted.

Leave a Reply

