39 People, Places and Things….

NUMBER 11: SAN FRANCISCO

One of the most liberal thinking cities I have traveled to in the world was San Francisco.  Perhaps it had something to with the fact I felt at home from the first day upon arrival or the abundance of cool record stores, cafes and the openly gay culture that exists?  Either way, I can’t entertain a single bad thought about the city.

SANFRANCISCO

Almost every person I encountered was friendly, open and welcoming.  The city itself, rebuilt after the great earthquake and fire of 1906 with European architects was settled in 1776 by Spanish explorers and after Saint Frances.

At the time of living in Frisco, I was fortunate enough to live on a house boat in the heart of the city so moving around was easy and the cost of living was somewhat minimal.  The only downside to it all was that I didn’t really venture too far outside of the city area.  Still, with perhaps some of the worlds best culture surrounding me in the shape of cinemas, bars, clubs, museums and art galleries, there was little need for me to venture too far.  And the people were on another level all together.  Some days, I would be walking down a road and random people would come up and start having a chat, sometimes even inviting me in for a cup of tea.  It’s hard to describe just how pleasant the people of Frisco really are.  The hills are a great way to get exercise too when you go walking.

CoitTower1

If you have not yet been to San Francisco, I would suggest you place this stunning city at the top of your list on your next trip to America.  The city holds a wonderful atmosphere and the culture all around you is sublime!

Leave a Reply

