39 People, Places & Things…

NUMBER 1:

So, as I reach the end of the 39th year on planet crazy, I wanted to share with you, 39 people, places and things that have an impact on my life so far.

First up is George Orwell, the man responsible for 1984, a book that I read for the first time at the age of 15. Until this point in my fragile existence, I had only read a few moderate novels, none of which truly inspired me or for that matter planted seeds in my mind.

The final pages were singularly, the most important moments of my life thus far as I discovered my first serious lesson in life. Don’t trust governments, institutions or corporations. As I rode my journey with Winston, I realized within the first handful of chapters that I needed to form my own opinions, learn my own lessons and explore my own ideas whilst, in the process, disconnect with mainstream society.

orwell

I didn’t want to end up like everyone else around me at the time. Brainwashed, conditioned, manipulated and mind controlled drones, all unable to think for themselves. From here, I began to search for people who could help me discover more about myself as a human being and explore why corruption and control were so prominent in our world.  Why do we listen to so many outside influences?  Why do we often go against our instinctive feelings?  Why is it that were are not allowed to do whatever the hell we want to do?  Thanks to the writings of Orwell, I could now question authority with dignity and substance.

1984, along with my first Bowie album are two things that will live with me till the day I die.

Leave a Reply

