39 People, Places & Things….

#6: PALACE BARRACKS CINEMA, BRISBANE

Everybody has their own special hideaway.  A place they can go to collect their thoughts and put plans in place for a better future.  My very own hideaway when living in Brisbane is a cinema just on the outskirts of the city.  It’s none other than Palace Barracks Cinema of course.

Palace Barracks Cinemas 23022

Now, I can’t really tell you exactly how many films I have seen at this venue over the years or even which film I have loved the most whilst in the confines of their walls.  I do know that I have enjoyed many hot chocolates and taken many dates there over the years.  I’ve learnt that Brisbane girls are not really into seeing foreign and art house films so I’ve had to settle for more commercial releases though when I go on my own, which is often, I take up my desired position, to the left and about five or six rows from the front.

It’s here that I settle in for the next couple of hours and enjoy the best the world of cinema has to offer me.  Monday nights are my preference.  It’s quiet, cheap and a good way to finish the first day of the new week off.  And they never fail to deliver in quality films to suite all my varied taste buds.  There even used to be a cool sushi train that sold $3 plates however sadly, they shut up shop a few months ago now.

Before and after each film, I can spend time alone, reading books, writing notes and planning my future.  Just me and my imagination, alone and alive.  If you have never ventured in, i’d suggest you get a wriggle on.  It’s a beautiful place to immerse yourself in and they always give you great customer service.

Leave a Reply

