39 People, Places & Things….

NUMBER 5: SALVADOR DALI

When most people think of surrealism, there is often one particular name who springs to mind.  Of course, it’s Salvador Dali, a Spanish born artist who helped the world re-define exactly which boundaries one can cross in the world of art.

mokhazem1360129048

Quite the dashing chap

Sometime in high school, I realized I was never going to be a painter yet I still had a lingering interest in trying to decipher how an artists mind ticked over?  So I began reading up on the more curious ones.  Dali was at the top of my list.  How on earth does an artist conjure up such beautiful images and then manage to relay them onto a blank piece of canvas or sculpt their feelings into life?  I’d heard a science teacher explain a theory that we only use around 10% of our brain power.  My humble and perhaps uneducated conclusion was that a few esteemed peers, Dali being one, were able to sneak into a much larger percentage of their mind power to bring back with them, colorful and powerful ideas that us mere mortals were simply incapable of releasing.

the-face-of-war

My earliest exposure to Dali’s work was “The Face of War”, painted in California during a brief stay in 1940.  I saw this painting as a landscape of war in my mind.  Limitless and most certainly endless.  Dali always stated that as long as we have mankind we will have war.  I guess perhaps, he was right.  It’s a beautiful piece and one day I hope to make it to Rotterdam where it is one show at Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen.

Over the years I have been fortunate to explore two Dali exhibits.  The first was in Berlin and the other being in Bruges.  Sometimes, I dream of being a different person in a different era and having the pleasure of enjoying Dali’s company.  Even just a cup of tea in a Spanish cafe would have sufficed.  After all, i’m not too greedy as to demand too much of one mans attention.  Then again, maybe I am?

Leave a Reply

