My dear friend….

Hi David,

You never knew me properly but let me tell you, I knew almost everything there was to know about you.

In late 1992, I was only 15.  I had no real friends in high school and didn’t fit in anywhere.  Late one December evening on ABC TV, I accidentally flicked over to a music show called Rage.  They were playing your videos all night and for the first time in my life I felt like I belonged somewhere.

5ee2222947c31a02265baabac87e6d4e

The very next day I told my mum and dad about what I saw the night before.  They were a little hesitant but accepted that your music seemed to make me incredibly happy for the very first time in my life.  I was so excited about buying your records and a few days after Christmas, my dad took me into town where I bought Scary Monsters, Let’s Dance and CHANGESONEBOWIE on cassette tape from The Record Exchange.  I still own them and they still play fine.  Like yourself, they never aged.

Over the following years, girlfriends came and went, friends came and went but you were always there for me as I grew into a young adult and then a fully grown man.  I listened to your words of wisdom endlessly, watched your films over and over and over and even bought any magazine that had an article about you to cut out and stick into my Bowie scrap book.

A lot has happened over the past 24 years.  My sister in law died from a heroin overdose at Christmas in 2000 and you were there in spirit with your music to life my heart.  I opened up about being molested at school by teachers and priests a few years ago and your music was again there to help me through the dark times.

bowie_on_tour

Today my friend, no, not my friend, my best friend and soul mate in a strange way, your left us behind for the last time.

Thank you for being there for me when nobody else was.  Thank you for all the spiritual highs and amazing adventures you gave me.  Thank you for for a back catalogue of albums that will never be surpassed.  But more than anything, thank you for all the lives you helped change for the better.

I’m pretty sad right now.  In time it will pass however, without your unchallenged friendship and direction in life, I would not be the man I am today.

One comment on “My dear friend….

  1. Pete says:

    I believe you’re not alone in your story. Countless Bowie fans could write a similar story with little variations, including me.

Leave a Reply

