Doing something a little daft?

Two months ago I decided to ease up on exercise, bite the bullet and rest up to give my plantar fascitis some time to heal.  I’d resigned myself to the simple fact that, unless I rested, the injury was never going to heal up and disappear.  With this in mind, I also came to the harsh realisation that I wouldn’t be running in this years Gold Coast Marathon on July 5th.  Long term results are more important than the short term so I kind of knew it was best for me to rest.

It’s now two weeks out from race day and the urge to run has got the better of me.  Of course I won’t be running the full 42.2 km’s but instead, there is the half marathon option at a lite and easy 21.1 kms.  So, with only one week available to get some decent training in, i’m going to crack the half and try and run it in under 2 hours.

There isn’t much I can do training wise aside from a few small 5-10 km jogs this week followed by one or two the following week leading into the race but I just know it will chew me inside if i’m not running in some capacity on Sunday July 5!  After all, it’s only a half marathon right?  And i’ve already booked my accommodation on the Gold Coast.

So it’s time to head out and get in the first training run to see how the body feels.  Wish me luck…..

Leave a Reply

