Offended? Who? Me?

I was looking to message an old friend on Facebook this afternoon and noticed that he was erm, no longer my social media buddy.  Now, I’ve known Doug for over 20 years.  Naturally, we’ve not kept in regular contact over the years but we have, over time, enjoyed following one anothers adventures and so forth.  Needless to say when I realised that Doug had disappeared from my electronic life, I was a little saddened.

My initial thoughts lent towards the reason why he had banished me to cyberspace oblivion? Was it photos I had posted, comments I’d made or something more sinister?  Sadly, I don’t think I will ever know?

So what is that offends people on social media?  Is it our political views?  Thoughts on gay marriage? Endless baby photos?  Or perhaps even the countless selfies some of us like to share with the big bad universe?

Earlier this year, I had managed to catch up with a good deal of people I’d not seen in the flesh for some time.  The experience as a whole was more than liberating.  In one instance, it had been almost 17 years since i’d last seen one dear old friend.  We’d been living apart for some time so when I noticed he was in Brisbane after the new year settled in I thought it was about time that was caught up with one another.  And what a marvelous catch up it was!

Maybe we take social media too far?  After all, it is just a pile of thoughts and photos for the best part.  Sure, it’s wonderful for following friends and family on holiday or catching a glimpse into the lives of people who no longer live in the same town but why do we take it all so seriously?

More and more people I adore are leaving Facebook and Twitter behind for greener pastures and perhaps in another few short years from now social media will be one of those fads that very few of us will ever admit to using? In the meantime, if you are offended by something a friend says, don’t bin them off, just remember, water off a ducks back…………

Leave a Reply

