20 years on……mad for music, coming of age, musing over girls and sucking cock!

1995 was indeed a massive year for me.  I’d turn the princely age of 18, graduate from high school and go on to begin an amazing adventure that, over the course of 12 months, would in fact, define me as a human being in many ways.

I discovered new and exciting hair styles in 1995 such as this one.

I discovered new and exciting hair styles in 1995 such as this one.

The year began with great expectations.  My final year of school was upon me.  I’d never liked how the education system strangles the freedom out of your mind before you even become an adult.  All the pressure was there to get good grades, pass your exams and move into University.  “Fuck that shit!” i’d often think to myself when yet, another teacher would drone on about how important going to Uni was.

The NME was a staple of my reading diet in 1995

The NME was a staple of my reading diet in 1995

Most of my time was passed by burrowing my head into literature and music press magazines.  I did this because my only real fiends were older than me and the people I went to school with were absolute cunts for the best part. A gaggle of suburban sheep preparing for their life of mediocrity and, along the way condemning and punishing anyone who dared to step outside the comfort zone. I’d began to colour my hair (blonde streaks), pierced my ear above all else, went on a mission of sexual exploration.

Oscar Wilde's classic "The Picture of Dorian Grey", my most adored read of 1995

Oscar Wilde’s classic “The Picture of Dorian Grey”, my most adored read of 1995

Not long after my eighteenth birthday on a night out with my older friends, I found myself in the back of a gay bar talking to some random guy.  He was at least twice my age, which seemed ancient to my youthful convictions.  Still, he told me about how he saw Bowie play live in Sydney back in 1983 so I was happy to listen.  After a good thirty minutes of waxing lyrical about music he began to stroke my leg with his bristled hand.  I was a little drunk so I guess I was happy to just play along,  And play along I did.

Somehow I ended up outside the unmentionable bar, sometime around the witching hour, me on my knees and his erm, penis hitting the back of my throat!

It wasn’t something i’d planned but it kind of just happened, as do most youthful sexual exploits of those curious minded types.  I kind of like the seedy side of it. an older man with some young boy at his beck and call, even if only for a few minutes.  It’s something i’d end up doing a few more times before the year was out among the various girls I was trying it on with.  Ohh, it would be another two years before I actually had sex with a girl.  But hey, that one is for another blog methinks.

Weekends were bliss.  I’d often head into town on the bus with the little money residing within my wallet.  First port of call would always be the record stores.  They were like stepping into another world.  There was Rocking Horse, Skinny’s, Galaxy, Music Memorabilia, A-Z Records, Arc Records, The Record Exchange and Rockaway Records.  There were more though my mind is a little hazy twenty years later.

One Sunday in The Record Exchange, sifting over the Bowie vinyl, as you do, I met a young dark haired girl from Rockhampton who went by the name of Jewel Cayley.  Being a big Bowie fan herself, we instantly hit it off and swapped number.  It was the beginning of school holidays and she was staying with her aunt in Holland Park, just south of the city.

Not the original venue for The Record Exchange, but this gives you an idea of how much fun it was in 1995 to be a music fan.

Not the original venue for The Record Exchange, but this gives you an idea of how much fun it was in 1995 to be a music fan.

Over those two weeks we hung out a lot.  I had little confidence with girls but I definitely felt at ease with Jewel.  She was almost as tall as me with pale skin and slender figure.  The most vivid memory came on her final day before heading home.  It was a most horrendously hot Sunday that began with a trip to the Riverside Markets before we spent the afternoon playing Bowie albums in the lounge area of her aunt’s place.  After a while we decided to dance to Life On Mars? as it came on.  From here, we began to kiss and frolic on the couch in our own private universe.  Later that night things grew a little seedy as I found myself getting my very first blow job from a girl.  It was in the dark confines of the platform at Rocklea train station.

I’ll never forget those two weeks.

Southpaw Grammar by Morrissey released on August 28 1995

Southpaw Grammar by Morrissey released on August 28 1995

Every other week, as I learned from the NME, a new album was being released.  The whole year turned out to be an epic one in that department.  I was discovering new bands almost on a daily basis.  To give you an idea here is just a small list of what albums were released in 1995….

Elastica – Elastica

Blur – The Great Escape

Oasis – What’s The Story (Morning Glory)

David Bowie – 1. Outside

Morrissey – Southpaw Grammar

Paul Weller – Stanley Road

Supergrass – I Should Coco

Pulp – Different Class

Tricky – Maxinquaye

Goldie – Timeless

The Verve – A Northern Soul

Garbage – Garbage

The Chemical Brothers – Exit Planet Dust 

Massive Attack – No Protection

The Cardigans – Life

Bjork – Post

Scott Walker – Tilt

Pretty impressive year for music ey?  I’ve not enjoyed any year before or since when it comes to music.  I started going to gigs, alternative nightclubs and buying albums on a regular basis.

Another aspect that hit me hard in 1995 was my elder brothers use of hard drugs.  I begun to understand the damage heroin can do to people.  In December he’d marry his wife and almost five years later, a couple of days outside of Christmas she was dead from a heroin overdose.

As 1995 came to an end, i’d coloured my hair red, played my last game of cricket, turned eighteen, graduated high school, had my first interlude with a girl, bought plenty of boss records, been to my first regular nightclubs and learned more about myself than at any other period in my life.

Leave a Reply

