Small regrets…..

I’ve been thinking recently about certain things I regret from the first 37 years of my life.  There aren’t many thankfully.

Way back in 1996 I’d thought of knuckling down with work, earning some money and heading to Japan for two weeks to take in some Bowie concerts.  He was set down to play seven shows, beginning on June 4th in Tokyo before finishing up on the 13th in Fukuoka.  The Outside tour had seen Bowie resurrect an obscure selection of songs from his back catalogue as well as showcasing a good deal of numbers from the “1. Outside” album released in September 1995.

5ee2222947c31a02265baabac87e6d4e

Looking back i’m still not sure why I didn’t make the effort?  Perhaps it was due to me only being 18 years old at the time of the tour and thinking there would be plenty more to enjoy?

I’d heard bootlegs from the tour in America and Europe and loved them!  It was cutting edge Bowie once more and he didn’t give a flying fuck for the casual fans who were only interested in hearing his well known numbers.  Let’s face it, how many fans picked up in the 1980’s after the “Serious Moonlight” and “Glass Spider” tours would have been keen for live renditions of “Boys Keep Swinging”, “Teenage Wildlife” and “My Death”?

There was talk that Bowie would tour Australia in early 1997 to promote his “Earthling” album as the headline act for the Big Day Out festival however, in 2009, it was revealed that the festival promoters baulked at the apparent “lack of hits” on offer in the set-list that was provided to them and in turn, refused to complete the deal to have Bowie premier his new album in Australia.

Thankfully, I have since managed to see Bowie during 2002 in America, 2003 in Europe and early 2004 on his Australian leg of the “A Reality Tour” though I always think about that missed opportunity in 1996 when I could have and most likely should have boarded a plane for Japan!

The one positive from this is that I learnt never to ignore my instincts again.  If I want to go somewhere and experience something I just do it!  Live by this motto…..

“If you want to do something, don’t waste time thinking about it, do it!”

Leave a Reply

