Helping others is easy!

This afternoon I stumbled along a young homeless man who looked more than worse for ware.  After a brief conversation, and realising how hungry he was I told him that I would be back in a few moments as I had to do something.  We shook hands and off I went.

From here, I went to Woolworths and purchased some bread, fruit, bottled water, spread and sweets.  I didn’t have much money left in my account however I knew I would be going home to enjoy some food from the cupboards at dinner time.  

Some 20 minutes later I returned to my new acquaintance with a couple of small bags that contained the food and water for him.  I told him that I would have bought more but was not too well of for money myself.  At first he was a little lost for words but then he began to thank me over and over.  Too many times for my liking but I understand how grateful he was for this food.

We spoke a little more before I left him with a warm handshake and my best wishes.

It was difficult leaving him in the knowledge that I may never see him again however, the smile on his face painted a thousand pictures!

Following this I have decided to spend some time every Friday over the next 6 weeks or so to help a homeless person with some food.  It may not be much but every little bit of help that one can offer to another is better than none at all.  In doing so, I hope I can inspire other people to do the same.

If you feel like joining me and have a spare few dollars then drop me a line.  It doesn’t take much to help others in need.

Leave a Reply

