A very kind and thoughtful gesture

Yesterday was a busy day for me.  Time was tight.  As can happen when time is short you sometimes run into the odd problem or two.  A problem found me at Roma Street train station just before lunch time.

I’d hoped on the 10:26 am 576 bus to Eight Mile Plains busway.  From there I was getting a connecting bus to the city, then a train out to visit my parents.  Having safely arrived at my first drop off point I waited for the 111 bus service into Roma Street station.  From there I would get the 11:30 am train to Rosewood and then onto my parents for half 1 in the afternoon.

Unfortunately, the 111 bus service had an out of order Go Card swipe machine.  Good for those who looking for a free ride into the city.  For myself though, it meant my Go Card, which had just dropped into the negative after the first bus ride would now require a second fare at Roma Street because I wasn’t able to touch on and off for a transfer on the 111.

Normally, this would not be a problem.  I’d just top up the Go Card and be on my merry way.  Yesterday though, I had no money in the form of cash or in my bank account.  Upon arriving at Roma Street I wasn’t able to enter the train station thanks to my “insufficient funds” reading on my Go Card.

Normally the staff in the CBD train stations are pretty tough.  99% of the time I would not have been allowed.  Yesterday however, I struck a very nice lady who, without hesitation allowed me through after I explained my predicament to her.  Whoever she was, it most certainly seemed like a breath of fresh air in this modern world of rules and regulations.  What’s more, the lovely lady informed me that if it happens again in the future, I should just grab a transaction print out and explain it to rail staff and they will allow me through as part of the transfer fare.

After all, I made it out to my parents and this was all thanks to a very kind, generous and supportive staff member from Queensland Rail on the gate at Roma Street station.  

Sometimes when you are flat broke and need a break it doesn’t come your way.  Thankfully for myself luck was on my side yesterday.  It most certainly is refreshing in this day and age of rules & regulations at every turn to find someone who still possesses the ability to utilise common sense and compassion.

Thank you mystery lady at Roma Street station.  I think I owe you a box of chocolates!

 

Leave a Reply

