Always look on the bright side of life…..

Whilst in London just over a week ago I was holding out in the Victoria coach station for an early morning bus.  Sometime in the early hours, between 2-3 am I noticed two guys with no bags sleeping just outside the entry to the coach station. It was an interesting sight so, as I do when travelling I took a sneaky snap of these two.

Image

Not long after they woke up and I joined in a conversation with them.  What surprised me after learning a little about them was that they were not waiting for a coach but, they were both homeless!

They had left their stash of gear near a small back lane where other homeless people sleep.  When I asked why they were sleeping at the coach station, they informed me that it wasn’t as cold and wet as their other spot.  They were only young, maybe mid twenties at best.  What’s more more they both seemed very down on luck.  A whole range of things had gone wrong to lead them to where they were now.

Being exposed to homeless people is always a giant wake up call for me. No matter how tough things can get, there is always going to be somebody worse off than I or many of you.  It reinforces my eternal gratitude to live the wonderful and lucky life that I do.

Leave a Reply

