Why doing it the hard way is the best way

I’ve just returned from a hearty 15 km training run along the pavement of my local area.  My fitness levels are starting to resemble that of what they were during my peak of 2013.  The times are dropping as the cardio levels improve. It’s all going swimmingly well for now.  There is just one little problem that is hindering my progress a little at this point in time.

Plantar fasciitis!

Yep, every long distance runners nightmare has finally caught up with me.  It’s my first serious injury of any nature and has been pestering me for the past 6 weeks or so.  Whilst I have been forced to reduce my training load a good deal of research has hinted the best solution the problem is something I do not and will not be doing. Rest!

With a heavy marathon season on the horizon now is not the best time to be resting so it is onwards and upwards from here.  It’s tough to mentally get ones head through.  The pain at times is intense but coming through the other end later this year with a few more marathons under the belt will be worth the pain, frustration and hassle now.  As I always say we only have one life so I shall most definitely not be spending too much of it resting.

OK, by now many of you might be thinking yours truly to be foolish yes?  Correct.  How foolish is yet to be determined.  What I do know and fully understand is that the rewards of pushing through this delicate predicament of physical set backs is far more enjoyable than sitting about waiting for the injury to heal up.

For now it’s forward we go with lots of stretching, reduced work loads, ice and massages.

Distance running makes me exceptionally happy.  It releases my soul and clears my head whilst allowing me to think about all the wonderful journeys that lay ahead in life for me.  I think one would have to break my knee caps to stop me from enjoying my passion for running.  Even then however………

Leave a Reply

