A picture paints a thousand words!

Back in my early days of high school, an old English teacher always drummed it into us that an image paints a thousand words.  Get the right image he would say and half the battle was already won.  This train of thought stuck with me over the past 20 odd years and perhaps that is partly why I have been keen to change more often than most.  In fact, I find staying the same astoundingly boring.  It links me to groundhog day, you know, doing the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over….yep, and over.

Part of my yearning to change evolved a great deal when I started travelling almost 15 years ago.  As time moved on I realised how important it was to capture your adventures around the world which is partly why I became a budding photographer.  When abroad I always try to put a little effort into my photographs.  Instead of just pointing and shooting I tend to spend a few seconds working out the best angle and so forth.

Image

The view from my sofa….a constant reminder of why I travel!

Another way of capturing travel memories has been in the art of collecting postcards.  Often, the work is already done for you by professional snappers who, with a little help from photoshop, make normally ordinary or lifeless images jump straight off the card and deep into your thought.

Tonight I decided to sort out the many dozens of postcards I have aquired over the years of travel.

Each and every one has its own story.  I link with an event, the instant a landmark was captured in stunning visual glory or perhaps a candid photo taken of someone we may know, but otherwise in a state of mind they would not normally share with us.  There are many iconic images around the world though one that stands out more for me was that of Elvis Presley during the filing of “Jailhouse Rock” in 1957.  It captures a young Presley at the peak of his powers.  It is also one the earliest images of my childhood that I vividly remember.  As a child I remember seeing it everywhere.

Image

Sex on a stick? In 1957 it most certainly was!

My obsession with film is, for the best part thanks to one man alone.  Alfred Hitchcock!  Nobody has come close to replicating the quality of his work, even with multi billion dollar budgets given to film makers today.  They just don’t get near “Hitch” do they?  The one abiding memory of his work for me was a film called “The Bird”, made famous by American actress, Tippi Hedren.  This next one is also an image that stuck with me from my youth.  So when I found this postcard in London some years ago now, I just had to buy it!

Image

Don’t be scared, they are just birds after all.

Paris was and still is a wonderful city, even after all my travels, it still ranks in my top 5 cities.  Not many major cities do if I am being honest.  They all have a Starbucks on one corner, McDonalds on the other and Tesco over the road.  They all blend in really.  Paris though has a special charm that I just can’t put into words.  One erm, attraction I loved on my first visit was The Erotica Museum by the Moulin Rouge.  Dating back to the 1600’s in China with a replica of the first ever dildo, this museum is sprawled out over three levels.  A tasteful reminder of my visit there in early 2010 was this next postcard.

Image

Why can’t woman just be themselves? This. Is beautiful!

Far too many today waste money on plastic surgery.  What they don’t realise is that there is no more beautiful sight than a woman’s body left in its natural state.  Breast implants, botox and all that rubbish woman waste money on is pointless in my eyes.  It just makes them look like every other barbie doll on the street.  And who wants to look like everybody else?  Shallow and empty people perhaps?

Next up we move back to England and perhaps one of the more intriguing attractions that has left just about everyone baffled to this day.

Image

You won’t find sights like this on the Gold Coast will you now?

Stonehenge has been a sight of beauty for that apparently first came into existence sometime between 2000 and 3000 BC.  Well, that narrows it down doesn’t it?  If you every find yourself in England make the trip to one of the most fascinating sights you shall ever behold in your life.  A truly wonderful vision.

The last, but by no means least honorable mention from my wall of colour is more of a political statement if anything.  And you knew I couldn’t resist taking a poke at the establishment of corruption within our precious world.  I shall let this one do the talking for itself.

Image

So there we are.  Just a small handful of memories collection from my travels.  The next time you find yourself abroad, make sure you pick up a few postcards.  Once I get my hands on some more blu tac I will finish off the other 50 plus postcards desperately waiting to find a new home on my walls.

Image

Everytime I go to make food I have more memories to look back on.

Leave a Reply

