Why Australian’s make me sick!

I’m watching the football tonight.  It’s West Ham V Crystal Palace. No sheep stations at risk as both team are safe as houses with no fear of relegation.  What I have noticed is the mount of foreigners playing for both teams, specifically black players.  If you remember back to the 1970’s it was rare, almost non-existent to watch a black man playing top flight football in England.  

The same can be said for many sports.

In Australia, rugby league is an extreme melting pot of racial variety.  People from all backgrounds play the game at all levels.  Turn on the television tomorrow and you will no doubt see many players with foreign descent entertaining the crowds.  There are even some players currently playing sport in Australia who arrived here not so long ago on boats, as asylum seekers.

Just now Facebook recommended a page that I should join.  I felt sick to the back of my stomach.  It goes against everything this country stands for.  Or does it?

https://www.facebook.com/groups/166376917088/

Yep, this vile page, “NO MORE Asylum Seekers. Enough Country Shoppers” is a recently opened Facebook page with over 1,100 members already.  For the most part I would imagine the people getting on board this sham of a page are ignorant and highly uneducated Australian’s who don’t have a clue as to what they are condoning.

I’ve worked in refuge health services in the past.  I’ve seen children who have only managed to get to our shores through the good will of others.  Often, they have seen their own parents murdered by child soldiers in countries such as Congo, Somalia and Iran.  

At times, I love this nation.  Yet, in moments like these, I feel uncontrollably ashamed of Australia and her people.  How a vile, disgusting and repulsive page like this is allowed, well, that is beyond my thoughts.  What I do know is this.  If you agree with the content of this disgusting page or would join yourself, delete me from your profile now!  I do not and wish to never be associated with anyone who would support this vile and hate filled racist propaganda aimed at people who know no better.

I don’t think I will sleep tonight. My anger is boiling over.

Leave a Reply

