Missing the target!

Well, my most recent ten day running challenge expired a couple of days ago now and, as some of you may know my goal was hitting up 250 km’s or running over the ten days. So how did it go?

Sadly, I fell well short of expectations. My first serious injury of sorts has gradually grown worse over recent weeks. It held me back to where I was only able to complete 132.5 km’s. That’s over 100 km’s short of the target but still, 132.5 more than I would managed had I not chosen to take on the challenge.

A00149F02

The injury itself is somewhat painful. Upon waking up in the morning it is hard to walk and takes an hour or so for my feet to feel good. Sitting down for long periods and any lack of movement makes it equally as painful. If anything it’s a frustrating injury and the first “real” injury of sorts I have suffered a long time. With the marathon season only a couple of months away i’m rather chuffed to have this minor setback now and not in say, 8 weeks time.

Thankfully, my running partner, mentor, coach and dear friend Stevie K has given me some great advice and I hope to be back to normal soon enough. Until that time comes it shall be easy as she comes.

From here it’s onwards and upwards.  This is a challenge that I shall no doubt come back to, and conquer in the not too distant future.  For now, it’s a case of easing back on the running and getting the body right.

Leave a Reply

