Who would have thought?

I’d stepped out of the station, running a little late for the game.  It was Western Sydney against Adelaide and an important match for both clubs.  Being the devoted football fan I am, it was important I didn’t miss the kick off.  A few hundred meters into my walk towards Parramatta Stadium, or Pirtek Stadium as it now known for corporate sponsorship reasons the heavens opened up and literally within seconds a torrential thunderstorm was sweeping over the city.

The rain was falling at a sideways angle whilst the wind blew people backwards and forwards.  We soldiered on none the less.  Unfortunately for myself, dressed in nothing but a t-shirt and cut off shorts it became a rather wet and costly experience.

 

Image

Some 30 minutes later, the storm had passed and I was inside the ground.  The match was delayed to clear the water logged pitch. I thought I should reach for my iPhone and pass the time a little bit of net surfing.  As I pulled it out of my pocket it soon became apparent I had a problem on my hands, or in my hands as was the case.  The iPhone was wet all over and powered off.

This morning i woke up to find the iPhone still wouldn’t turn on.  I booked an appointment with the Apple store in Sydney city with great expectations that there would be a solution as the iPhone was under warranty.  After all, Apple is now valued at $600 BILLION so a company worth that much would surely have a good warranty system in place yes?

Following my short visit to the multi million dollar Apple store on George Street I was left wanting.  Apple warranties do not cover any form of water damage.  So my 5 month old iPhone was rendered worthless.  Next step will be to visit Virgin to see if they have any coverage under my contract to help.

As a company Apple know how to generate massive profits.  They know how to provide products that help you move forward with the times.  What they fail to generate is faith in their products.  I guess with this age of easily dispensable products it is expected that you spend and spend and spend.  The way of the modern world.

 

Leave a Reply

