My two week marathon challenge: Day 5

Today is day 5.  The fifth day of training.  The aim? Complete my first marathon of the year on January 26 with just two weeks to prepare.  I thought myself to be a little crackers when I contemplated this only last week.  Most of you who know me understand that I am not the full deck of cards.  Hence, for some this decision is of no great surprise.

My most recent training run was in mid-November last year so to say I am out of shape for running would be an understatement of grand proportions.  I’ve been told that one should normally train for at least 6 to 8 weeks before a marathon.  So how easy is it to prepare for one in just two weeks?  Amazingly difficult.

I have been out on the roads, pounding the surface every morning and most evenings since last Saturday.  My legs have clocked up a tick over 73 kilometres thus far.  The target by today was to be sitting a fraction nearer the 100 km mark; however the body has been at pains to deny me.

Thankfully this evening will be a much loved rest period to allow for some recovery time before making Thursday and Friday my bitch!  Well, that’s the plan anyway.

If you have wandered into excuses land with your 2014 goals and dreams it may just be time to force yourself into productivity mode and get the ball rolling once more towards your final destination.  Remember this one quote……

“Nothing becomes of nothing”

Leave a Reply

