Running time…..It’s on again!

With the new year comes a new running season and in a matter of 20 days from now the Australia Day marathon at Victoria Point takes place.  My only problem will be my distinct lack of preparation having not had a good running stint for a couple of months now.  But hey, I’m always up for the challenge.

This year my target is to run 10 marathons, maybe more depending on where I am throughout the year.

First things first though, and the plan of attack for this first event for 2014 is to hit the streets later this week with 12 km morning trots and similar evening training runs each an every day over the first 7 days before adding more distance to each run in week two and again in week three  Some evenings I may end up in the gym completing either body pump or spin classes for training variety.  These are really the only two gym classes I enjoy but they sure do work you over hard.

It also came to my attention recently that on my birthday, July 26 there is a marathon around Ayers Rock in the Northern Territory so that would be a wonderful way to spend my 37th birthday!  There could honestly be no better way than celebrating your birthday doing what you love doing in one of the most beautiful places in the world!

Image

I get the pleasure of running 42.2 km’s worth of laps around this on my birthday this year!

Still, it all begins on Australia day.  It’s going to be tricky to get my unconditioned body ready for the full 42.2 km’s but I know my head is always my greatest asset when running so it’s time to suck it up and get 2014 off to the perfect start!  This year is going to be exciting on so many levels.  Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

