No money = no worries!

I reached into my pocket and pulled out what I had left.  A small handful of coins then spilled over the bed.  £8.58 worth of coins to be exact.  It’s all I have left but it somehow isn’t a problem.

Image

For most people, a distinct lack of money would create anxiety, disappointment and perhaps tension with less than a week to go before Santa drops down chimney’s the world over. From my own perspective and, with many thanks to my happiness project, the desire for money drained from my everyday thoughts over the past 12 months.  The sense of freedom that comes without the reliance of money is invigorating. If anything I feel more empowered than I have ever been before.

Sure, I can’t exactly pick up a much needed pair of new shoes and I am in no position to walk into my bank and apply for a home loan.  Hell, I couldn’t even buy a bus ticket to London to visit museum’s for the day right now.  However, there is nothing I want for.  So who was it again exactly that told us we need money?  The corporate advertising agencies?  The bank executives and CEO’s?  The shallow acquaintances who surround themselves with irrelevant material possessions?

Life is beautiful right now.  I could not be in a happier place.  Once you realise money is not important your life will become so much better for it!

Leave a Reply

