When you run…..anything is possible!

A few weeks ago now I set myself a personal challenge which would, if completed see my legs run at least 200 km’s in just ten days.  I’d never attempted anything like this before however I was quietly confident that I would complete the task I had set out on a warm Thursday evening earlier this month.

Tactics would be vital in my chase for the magical 200 km mark I had laid out ahead of me.  It would be important to set up some big runs early on.  Over the first three days I had clocked up more than 80 km’s with a handful of runs.  Saturday morning was the hardest of these early runs with dizzy spells and tired legs thanks to a distinct lack of food the night before giving me a good deal of trouble as I scrambled my way over a 16.6 km road run around my local area.  Thankfully I had Stevie K with me for that run to keep pushing me when my legs were struggling to turn over.

Having soldiered through and set up a solid foundation the remaining seven days were comparatively easy.  Even with a three day patch of not feeling well and enjoying a rest day I still found my way to day 10 with only a handful of km’s to go which I gleefully covered, laying some cream on top by that evening.

At the end of it all I had covered 209 km’s, in the process setting many new PB’s.

The personal satisfaction gained from completing a challenge of this magnitude has given me more than enough self belief to reach new running highs in 2014 and beyond.  If you are looking for a fresh perspective on life and want to set yourself some challenges then why not lay down some fresh and challenging running targets?  It might only be small at first though, with time, patience and persistence you can achieve amazing results that perhaps you had never believed you were capable of?

As with all aspects of  life, don’t sit back and wait for things to happen.  Go out and make them happen!

Leave a Reply

