A year of learning……

How is it that the year is now on the downhill run?  In a matter of seven short weeks we shall find ourselves in 2014!  I do hope the year has treated you well?

Upon reflection the greatest learning curve that I will take away from my happiness project is the reinforced belief that money does not make you happy.  I’ve been on a financial tight rope this year, partly by personal choice and it has taught me some tough lessons.  On the flip side I have never been happier.  So, in a society driven by money how was this possible?  Well, it was a rather simple process in the end.  There were three key ingredients that I threw into the mix which were as follows…..

*  Appreciate what you have and where you are.

*  Surround yourself with positive, driven and motivated people.

*  Understand that there are always people worse off than yourself.

Essentially, with these rules in mind I soon forgot about my reliance on money and focussed more on the quality of life that I have been blessed with.  I found myself returning the simple pleasures I enjoyed as a teenager, a time when money was never a factor in my life.  So it was back to reading books, listening to music at home and seeking out quality time with friends.  They all became passionate objectives of my happiness project throughout the year.  I’d removed any need for money and left behind the concept of adding pointless material possessions to my life.

Image

Throughout the year there have been moments where I had wished for a few extra dollars in my pocket to enjoy the guilty pleasures though to counter act these desires I kept a series of images (like the one above) near by to remind me of how lucky I am to lead such an amazing life.  

So when I hear of major banks, corporations and retail chains continuing to enjoy the fruits of record profits whilst over 2 BILLION people on this planet live in poverty I can’t help but feel sad for those of us who squabble over money in our greed driven western society.  We just don’t appreciate how lucky we are do we?  

Perhaps in 2014 you might like to learn how to forget about money.  Take more time out to stop and smell the roses.  Embrace the simple things within your life.  Most of all, when you feel like you are doing it tough keep a copy of the image above and use it as a reminder of why you are so lucky to lead the life you do.

So what are you waiting for?  Why not start your very own happiness project for 2014.  I can’t stress enough how much more enjoyable your life will become.  

Money doesn’t make you happy.  Never has.  Never will……

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

