Things that make me happy…….

The doors were finally closed at around 5:15 pm this evening.  As always on a Sunday the 4 pm Yoga class runs over closing time so I never manage to make the last bus home. Instead I have a lazy 45 minute walk at the end of the closest bus line to my house.  This evening I was feeling perky after work so, with a free ticket in hand I made my way to The Palace cinema in New Farm to catch a new documentary I have had my eye on for a few weeks now.

I adore film in all walks of life.  In high school I studied film and television and have continued a burning passion for the medium ever since.  Going along on my own, tucking into the quiet corner down near the front and allowing my mind to escape into the screen before my eyes is one hobby that always leaves me feeling happy.

Canadian producer Sarah Polley decided to tell the story of her mothers extramarital affairs through the eyes of her family in documentary format during 2010.  Fast forward to 2013 and we finally see the finished result.  It’s a difficult documentary to follow, at times dwelling on insignificant periods of her parents lives in relation to the story being told.  What did strike me was the sadness in Polley’s father when he describe the time in which he realised his wife had been unfaithful to him on numerous occasions with other actors.  Enough to bring a few tears to this young mans eyes.

Ideally I would suggest you pic this little effort up on DVD down the track.  There just wasn’t enough guts to warrant a cinematic release in my eyes.

On my way home I stumbled over a new fashion store in New Farm and noticed some intriguing artwork inside the front shop window.

Image

 

Never a more true way to look at what is important to you.  I’ve learnt many things and reinforced older values and beliefs whilst undertaking this happiness project.  And something that I wish more people would understand was the first slogan that caught my eye.  “Friends are more important than money!”

Image

 

A key phrase I have been using this year is “stop and smell the roses” and the second piece of art I noticed was not far off the mark.  We could all benefit more if we “breathed deep and appreciate the moment” I must say.

Catching these two works of art made for a most splendid finish to my evening at the cinema.  I arrived home to receive a phone call from my partner and am now ready to let my head hit some pillows in search of sleep.  Life is becoming more and more beautiful for me with each passing day.

Leave a Reply

