The night I lost my virginity………

We all remember our first time.  For some it is a life altering experience, others may consider it the time where their first real addiction in life commenced.  Friends have told me it is an experience that is over in a flash.  I’ve always been curious but never really thought of venturing into these dark waters that so many talk of in glowing terms.  Still, billions of people the world over embrace the exotic and multiple temptations on offer.

At this point I should perhaps ask you to get your thoughts out of the gutter.  I’m not actually talking about what you may like to think I would be talking about.

There is nothing remotely sinister about what I am about to recount through this blog.  Last night was of course the night I lost my virginity to coffee!  I opened up and followed through with my ambition to try new things as part of my happiness project.  Coffee was on said list so it was about time I psyched myself up to try what many others in my life have told me I am missing out on.

Image

Here goes……the first sip!

The venue was in Bulimba at The Coffee Club.  The drink?  A cappuccino thank you very much.  The emotions encountered as I ventured into uncharted waters were led with trepidation at first.  Within the first few sips I realised why so many tired people in this world remain unable to function in their day to day life without a coffee in the system.

The hit of caffeine that engulfed my body was precise and sharp.  A sudden perk in my senses ensued.  Did I like it by this point? The jury was still out.

As I continued with this life altering experience the realities of what I was partaking in struck home.  If I am being honest with you there is a jolly good chance that I have, through time acquired an immense dislike for the smell of coffee.  I truly never understood what all the fuss was about?

By the time this mug of cappuccino sat, disheveled and empty upon my table I was not yet totally sold on the concept of coffee.  Perhaps I will need to experience a few more of these coffee fix moments before I can truly appreciate what all the fuss is about.  For now however, cups of tea and hot chocolate will remain my hot beverage of choice.

Coffee my dearest, I have not yet brushed you off completely.  I may need to spend more time getting to know you better.  But for the time being our first experience together left me a little……empty and unsatisfied.

Leave a Reply

