Of time and the city…..

For the many splendid cities I have had the pleasure of visiting over the past 15 years there is one that sticks out head and shoulders above the rest.  A city of wonder, a rainbow of colour, atmosphere, character, style and substance.  The city is, of course, Liverpool. Founded in 1207 and granted city status in 1880 Liverpool is England’s fourth largest city with a population of just over 552,000 inhabitants.  I doubt there is any way I can describe the sheer vibrancy of this city which has provided me with so many pleasure on a grand scale over the years.  Some put it down to the residents, others lay the blame with the music scene whilst plenty more will tell you the football culture is what makes Liverpool such a wondrous place.

For me Liverpool is more than just another city. Liverpool, my friends is a wonderland where you can become part of the furniture for life.  There is rarely a dull moment on Merseyside and you will never be short of a laugh with perhaps the most unique sense of humour I have experienced anywhere in the world.

Towards the end of summer each year on Merseyside there is a heavenly week for Beatles fans to savour.  International Beatles Week!  Eight days of cover bands, entertainment, theatre, record stalls and thousands of Beatles fans from all corners of the globe who flock to the city for an adventure of a lifetime.

In 2010 I attended one of the most sublime celebrations of the fab four in living memory. Good friends, plenty of beer and many sleepless nights as I took in Beatles related entertainment day and night for the entire week.  Some of the fantastically innovative cover bands had come from Japan, Russia, Argentina, Bolivia and New Zealand.  It was a 24/7 orgy of Beatles and solo related sounds.  It was bliss!

Remembering John Lennon on Matthew Street!

Remembering John Lennon on Matthew Street!

How could I sum the week up in one image?  This picture, taken around 5 pm on the Wednesday afternoon, day one of the festivities was me showing my love for John Lennon, his memorial statue outside the Cavern Club on Matthew Street and typifies the love that was shared in abundant spade loads through the entire week.  Any reason to celebrate the music from the greatest band to grace planet earth is going to be a wondrous time.  Every time I look at this image I am reminded why I travel, why I meet new people, why I love music and, above all, why I love life!

If you have yet to experience International Beatles Week on Merseyside then, may I suggest you take the time to travel into the heart of Liverpool for perhaps one of the most unbelievable weeks your heart could desire.

Leave a Reply

