Acheiving your goals in life may be hard work however the rewards are priceless!

Some 18 months ago I set out on an adventure that would not only change my outlook on life, it would re-define the direction I would take in years to come.  I wanted to run marathons.  They are in no way easy but I felt I needed to challenge myself in order to feel happier with the world around me.

My plan of attack was to, at first, tackle a half marathon.  I had only ever run 15 km’s in one go a few times before in my life over the years so covering 21.1 km’s would be a good starting point.  The one plus I knew I had on my side with this challenge was my mental toughness so I set out on a training program which had me running the streets of Brisbane 4-5 times a week.

In late march i completed the Twilight half marathon at St Lucia with relative ease in 1 hour 48 minutes.  The nest challenge would be preparing my body for an amazing test of stamina that would ultimately see me complete a full marathon.

As the weeks rolled over I was becoming more confident with my running and covering greater distances with every passing week.  By late May I was covering 50 km’s a week and by the start of July that mark was now closing in on 70 km’s a week.  I’d never felt this good!

Image
18 months, 3 half marathon and 6 full marathons!

On the first Sunday in July 2012 I experienced a moment that everyone should aspire to one day achieve.  I crossed the finish line in a 42.2 km marathon for the first time.  The emotional buzz you get from this enormous sense of achievement is something that words cannot begin to describe.  You now realise you are in a special club.  Less than 2% of Australia’s population have completed a marathon.

Image
The mementos you receive for reaching your goals. There will be plenty more to come!

Fast forward to just over 12 months later and I have embraced six 42.2 km marathons and three 21.1 km half marathons.  It has now been a full year and a half since I set out on my drive to improve my fitness and over this period I have covered around 2,500 km’s of running.  It’s not been easy but then again the greatest rewards come from hard work and persistence.

With the lifestyle changes made from increased running I have seen countless improvements in many aspects of my day to day life. If you had said to me two or three years ago that I would achieve these goals no doubt I would have dismissed your claims as ridiculous.  All it takes is some desire and determination and you can begin your journey.

Image
Just a few pairs of shoes that have helped me in reaching my goals……

The secret to reaching your goals is simple.  The first step on the ladder is always the hardest.  However, once you begin a journey it is important to focus on what lies in front of you.  Take it one step at a time and take the failures along the pathway in your stride.

To succeed in life you need to embrace failure.  If you can’t or won’t embrace failure then you will never succeed.

Leave a Reply

